PRETTY MANCORA

(Version française plus bas)

In Mancora, men can be really annoying to lone female travelers. The day after my encounter with Javier, same place and time, a clone of his tried to engage a conversation with me.

“Good swimming?” He repeated at leat six times. I sat up and said: “Look, leave me alone. I don’t want to talk, I want to be on my own.”
“That’s not very courteous,” he said. And he left with his puppy.
“Why should I care to be courteous! Honestly…” I thought.

Mancora beach in the afternoon

I was trying not to feel bad when soon enough, the white bikini from the day before came to me and said:
“Be careful.”
“Now, why would you tell me that?”
“The guy who just talked to you, he’s friend with the one from yesterday. I talked to a security guard on the beach. He said they both look for lone female tourists, try to engage a conversation and make out with them.”
“All right, thanks for letting me know. Making myself clear hardly seemed to be enough yesterday. All I want is to swim and dry in peace, for crying out loud!”
“Ha ha! Also, if you are traveling alone, do never tell them that. Tell them you travel with friends.”

Despite all this, Mancora beach is quite pretty and the water is warm enough to go for a swim. It’s also a popular place to sit for a drink and get a massage, just like Barcelona. It would be a shame not to take advantage of it because of ‘sticky’ Peruvian men.

So, if you ever go to Mancora on your own, leave your valuables at the hotel, find a spot to sit in a relatively crowded area, and don’t be shy to send packing the annoying ones.

Mancora beach in the evening

Sunset in Mancora

MANCORA, MA JOLIE!

A Mancora, les hommes sont parfois vraiment collants. Le lendemain de ma rencontre avec Javier, même plage et même heure, son clone à la peau un peu plus claire a essayé d’engager la conversation.

“Bien profité de l’eau?” répète-t-il au moins six fois. Je m’asseois et lui dis: “Ok, laisse-moi tranquille. J’ai pas envie de parler et j’ai envie d’être seule.”
“Ca manque de courtoisie,” répond-t-il. Et il continue son chemin en compagnie de son chiot.
“Et pourquoi devrais-je être courtoise, non mais alors?!” Ai-je pensé

J’essayais de ne pas culpabiliser quand le bikini blanc de la veille s’approcha sans plus tarder.
“Faites attention.”
“Pourquoi me dites-vous cela?”
“Le jeune homme qui vous a abordé et celui d’hier, ils sont amis. J’ai discuté avec un garde de la sécurité sur la plage. Il m’a dit qu’ils guettent les touristes seules pour discuter, les toucher…”
“Ah, d’accord. Merci de me le dire! Celui d’hier, il a vraiment fallu lui mettre les points sur les i. Tout ce que je veux, c’est nager et sécher en paix!”
“Ah ah! Surtout, si vous voyagez seule, ne le dites à personne. Dites que vous êtes avec des amis.”

Malgré cela, la plage de Mancora est assez jolie et l’eau suffisamment tiède pour aller piquer une tête. C’est aussi un endroit favori des touristes pour prendre un pot à même la plage ou se faire masser, un peu comme à Barcelone. Il serait donc dommage de ne pas en profiter simplement à cause des Péruviens collants.

Alors, si jamais vous allez à Mancora, laissez vos objets de valeur à l’hôtel, trouvez un petit coin de plage parmi les touristes et n’ayez pas peur d’envoyer paître les importuns.

1 Comment

Filed under Peru

One response to “PRETTY MANCORA

  1. Danielle

    Way to handle them, lau!

Leave a Reply

