PERUVIAN MEN

(Version française plus bas- click on Keep reading)

In Tumbes, I said goodbye to Stalin, Andrés and Paul and took a bus to Mancora, a beach town very popular among Peruvians and foreigners.

I arrived in Mancora during las fiestas patrias, so it was a little crowded, but nothing compared with what I expected from reading my guidebook. To me, Mancora is a little village on the beach with a couple of streets inhabited by short-term and long-term tourists, novice surfers and hippies.

There isn’t much going on in Mancora, but I will remember this town for my first impression of Peruvian men.

Plastic bottles on Mancora beach

It all started with a plastic bag.

I was sitting on the beach after a nice swim, had just thanked a young Peruvian woman in a white bikini for watching my belongings, when I saw a fairly tall, dark-skinned guy in a boardshort with straight, shoulder-length dark hair and what I would call Inca features, deliberately dropping a plastic bag on the beach. This beach is so full of garbage already. “Should I say something?” I thought.

I didn’t but I gave him a look, hoping he would get it. Well, he gave me a huge smile in return and sat on his knees just in front of me.

“Who’s going to pick up that bag?” I said.
“… If I do, is that better?”
“Yes.”
“¿Hay que cuidar de le la playa, no? Si no lo hacemos, en 50 anos, nadie volvera aqui.” (We have to take care of this beach, right? Otherwise 5 years from now, nobody will come back.)

The guy goes picking up the bag, and I think it’s the end of it. But it isn’t.

“I’m Javier,” he said.

I didn’t fully expect what was coming next….

A SURREAL CONVERSATION

Javier: I am so tanned! Do you like my skin? Look, our skins have such a different color! You are beautiful. What about me? Am I beautiful?
Me: Wait. Are you asking me to tell you whether or not I find you handsome?!?!!!
Javier: Yes. You are beautiful, and I would like to know if I am too…

Javier: Where are you from?
Me: France.
Javier: Really? I met a French girl the other day, beautiful like you. Blonde, with eyes… of what color are your eyes?
Me: Hum, grey-blue.
Javier: Like cats’! You know cats, with eyes wide-opened at night.

Javier: And how old are you?
Me: 25
Javier: I am 26.

Javier: Do you have a boyfriend?
Me: Yes. (Yes, I’ve been lying about this one ever since I set foot in Peru.)
Javier: In France?
Me: Yes. You know, when I am with someone I don’t look for anybody else. Do you have a girlfriend?
Javier: No, unfortunately.

Javier: Are you traveling on your own?
Me: No, I’m with some friends. (Lying about this one too!)

Javier: And how old is your boyfriend?
Me: You know, you ask a lot of questions!
Javier: I don’t know, we are just talking.
Me: Yeah, but you ask too many questions. I don’t know you, so I don’t want to answer you.
Javier: But that’s why we are talking, to know each other!
Me: Yes. Well, I personally think it takes more than a few hours to know a person. It takes several weeks, even months sometimes.
Javier: I don’t know, foreign girls ask me a lot of questions so I ask the same.
Me: You don’t have to answer them if you don’t want to, you know.
Javier: Do you have brothers and sisters?
Me: …
Javier: We are just talking!
Me: Well then, you talk and I listen, but I won’t answer anymore questions.

Javier: And you’ve never had a latino boyfriend?
Me: No.
Javier: Why?
Me: Because it’s my first time in Latin America, I already have a boyfriend and I’m not looking for another one.
Javier: Never?
Me: No. You know if France there aren’t so many Latinos. And I’m with someone, I’m not looking for another boyfriend.
Javier: Yeah, I got that, no problem. We are good right? We are good?
Me: Yes, we are good.

Me: Some friends from Ecuador told me European and American women have a reputation for coming down here to look for men. Do you think it’s true?
Javier: Oh yes, they come here for the beach, the sun, sex and drugs.
Me: Doesn’t it bother you?
Javier: Er no, I wish more of them came down here. Why?
Me: Oh, I don’t know. I wouldn’t like it if foreigners came to my country only for that, I’d rather they had other reasons.

Javier: You know, white men are cold.
Me: And how do you know? Have you tried with some of them?!
Javier: They told me, white girls told me. I saw it. One night I was with a white girl whose friend was with her boyfriend. They were super fast, whereas I took my time, I made it last about two hours. You know, I always use condoms.

Javier: I am cool you know. I have a friend from Sweden, she wants to come back to Mancora. She asked me if she could stay three months at my place. I say yes, she can sleep with me if she wants to.

Javier: And you don’t want to try with a Latino?

(Gosh, I shall I put it…)
Me: No, I have someone, I told you. I have to go now. Chau!

* * * * * * *
LE MALE PERUVIEN

A Tumbes, j”ai fait mes adieux à Stalin, Andrés et Paul et pris un bus pour Mancora, une petite ville balnéaire très prisée par les Péruviens et les étrangers.

Je suis arrivée à Mancora pendant las fiestas patrias, il y avait donc plus foule que d’habitude, mais rien de comaprable avec ce à quoi je m’attendais après avoir lu mon guide touristique. A mon humble avis, Mancora est un petit village de plage dont quelques rues sont peuplées de touristes, surfers néophytes et hippies qui ont pris leur quartiers ici à court ou à long terme.

A Mancora, la vie suit son court. Je me rappelle cette ville surtout pour les Péruviens, qui m’ont fait une sacrée impression.

Tout a commencé par un sac en plastique.

J’était assise sur la plage après avoir bien profité de la mer et remercié une jeune Péruvienne en bikini blanc d’avoir surveillé mes affaires, quand j’ai vu un jeune homme relativement grand en short de bain, à la peau caramel foncé, aux cheveux mi-longs noirs et raides, et aux traits que je qualifierais d’Incas, en train de jeter délibérément un sac plastique sur la plage. Cette plage est déjà si sale… Devrais-je dire quelque chose?

Je ne dis rien mais je lance un regard qui, j’espère, en dit long. Eh bien il m’offre un grand sourire en retour, et s’installe confortablement sur ses genoux en face de moi.

“Qui va ramasser ce sac en plastique?” dis-je.
“… Si je vais le ramasser, c’est mieux?”
“Oui.”
“¿Hay que cuidar de le la playa, no? Si no lo hacemos, en 50 anos, nadie volvera aqui.” (Il faut prendre soin de cette plage, non? Sinon dans 50 ans, personne ne reviendra.)

Le jeune mâle va ramasser le sac en plastique, et moi je pense qu’on en reste là. Mais non!

“Je m’appelle Javier,” ajoute-t-il.

Et je ne m’attendais pas à tout ce qui allait s’ensuivre…

UNE CONVERSATION IREELLE

Javier: Comme je suis bronzé! Tu aimes ma peau? Regarde comme nos peaux sont de couleur différente! Tu es belle. Et moi, tu me trouve beau?
Moi: Attend, tu me demande de te dire si oui ou non je te trouve beau?!?!!!
Javier: Oui, tu es belle, et moi j’aimerais savoir si je suis beau…

Javier: Tu es d’où?
Moi: De France.
Javier: Ah, l’autre jour j’ai rencontré une Française. Belle comme toi. Blonde, les yeux… de quelle couleur sont tes yeux?
Moi: Euh, bleu-gris.
Javier: Comme les yeux des chats, qui ont les yeux grands ouverts la nuit!

Javier: Et tu as quel âge?
Moi: 25
Javier: Moi j’ai 26.

Javier: Tu as un copain?
Moi: Oui. (Un mensonge récurrent depuis mon arrivée au Pérou.)
Javier: En France?
Moi: Oui. Quand j’ai quelqu’un je ne vais pas voir ailleurs. Et toi tu as quelqu’un?
Javier: Non, malheureusement, pas en ce moment.

Javier: Tu voyages toute seule?
Moi: Non, je suis avec des amis. (Autre mensonge récurrent.)

Javier: Et ton mec il a quel âge?
Moi: Dis-donc, tu poses beaucoup de questions!
Javier: Je sais pas, on discute juste.
Moi: Oui mais tu poses trop de questions. Je te connais pas alors j’ai pas envie de répondre.
Javier: Mais justement, on discute pour se connaître.
Moi: Tu sais, pour moi il faut plus que quelques heures pour se connaître. Il faut plusieurs semaines, voire plusieurs mois.
Javier: Je sais pas, à moi, les étrangères posent plein de questions alors je pose les même.
Moi: Tu sais, t’es pas obligé de répondre à leurs questions si tu en as pas envie.
Javier: Et tu as des frères et soeurs?
Moi: …
Javier: On discute juste!
Moi: Si tu veux, tu parles et moi j’écoute. Mais je réponds plus à tes questions

Javier: Et tu as jamais eu de mec latino?
Moi: Non.
Javier: Pourquoi?
Moi: Parce que c’est la première fois que je viens en Amérique Latine, que j’ai déjà un copain et donc je n’en cherche pas d’autres.
Javier: Jamais?
Moi: Non, tu sais en France il n’y a pas beaucoup de Latinos. Et quand j’ai quelqu’un, je ne vais pas voir ailleurs.
Javier: Oui, ça j’ai compris. Pas de problème- we are good, right? We are good?
Moi:Yes, we are good.

Moi: Des amis équatoriens m’ont dit que les Européennes et Américaines ont la réputation de venir en Amérique Latine pour se trouver un mec. Tu penses que c’est vrai?
Javier: Oh oui- ils viennent ici pour le soleil, la plage, le sexe, la drogue.
Moi: Et ça t’embête pas qu’elles viennent juste pour ça?
Javier: Bah non, au contraire, j’aimerais bien qu’il y en ai plus qui viennent. Pourquoi?
Moi: Ben moi, ça me saoulerait que des étrangers viennent dans mon pays juste pour ça, je préférerais qu’ils aient d’autres raisons.

Javier: Tu sais, les hommes blancs, ils sont froids.
Moi: Et comment tu le sais, tu as essayé? (!)
Javier: On me l’a dit, les filles blanches me l’on dit. Je l’ai vu. Une fois, j’étais avec une fille blanche dont l’amie était avec son mec. Entre eux deux ça a été très rapide. Moi j’ai pris mon temps, j’ai fait durer pendant deux heures au moins. Tu sais, j’utilise toujours des préservatifs.

Javier: Tu sais moi je suis cool, j’ai une amie suédoise, elle veut revenir a Mancora. Elle m’a demandé si elle peut venir rester chez moi, pendant 3 mois. Pour moi pas de problème, elle peut dormir avec moi si elle veut.

Javier: Et t’as pas envie d’essayer avec un Latino?
(Bon, comment dire…)
Moi: Non, j’ai déjà quelqu’un je te dis. Bon, faut que j’y aille. Chau!

6 Comments

Filed under Peru

6 responses to “PERUVIAN MEN

  1. Danielle

    Yikes. I hope you meet more so that this guy proves to be the exception rather than the rule.

  2. Marc

    Côté fréquentation, ça semble différent de La Baule…

  3. Ah ah! Effectivement, ce n’est pas le même style!

  4. marioncru

    eh ben! C’est pire qu’en Afrique!

  5. Katlynn

    lau.
    you gotta be more forceful. that’s disgusting.

    • Well, I had nothing to do, his obvious strategy was actually kinda funny and his tone wasn’t agressive but almost childish. So, I kinda wanted to see how the conversation was going to progress while making it clear I wasn’t interested…!
      But no worries, when his clone came to me the next day, I totally sent him packing!

Leave a Reply

